X Close


Saturday June 1, 2013

Kedah shuttlers out to restore lost pride in MSSM tourney

KEDAH’s shuttlers aim to restore lost pride in this year’s national schools badminton championships to be held in Labuan from June 4 to 8.

A squad of 26 boys and girls has undergone an intensive one-month preparation for the championships.

Kedah schools badminton technical chairman Yusrizal Othman said the team had been given a target of five gold medals based on the current form of the players.

“Last year, our target was just one gold but we ended up with just a silver when the Girls Under-15 pair of Nur Hazwani Huzair and Ho Chin Woon lost the initiative in the final against Negri Sembilan’s S. Kisona and Kelly Siow to lose by 21-23,13-21,” Yusrizal said.

He said the team have been motivated to perform and redeem lost pride.

“The players identified to deliver comes from the Under-12 group. Topping the list are the up and coming lasses Nor Syaza Roshidi and Amira Nabilah Humairah in the Girls Under-12 singles and doubles.

“Either one should win the singles title and pair up to win the doubles title too. Their recent performances at the National 100Plus badminton circuit have been encouraging and they should live up to expectations,” Yusrizal said.

He said Mohd Hanif Fadil could win the Boys Under-12 singles title and also has the potential for a second title in the doubles with Ooi Jhy Dar as his partner.

“The mixed doubles pair of Bolriffin Khairul Tor and Lee Zii Yi is a good bet for the fifth gold medal. All in, we cannot perform worse than last year,” he added.

A total of 13 gold medals will be at stake in the championships. They are the singles and doubles in the Boys and Girls Under-12, Under-15, Under-18 and the mixed doubles event.

The Kedah team:


Under-12: Mior Mohd Hakim, Mohd Hanif Fadil, Kok Jing Hong, Ooi Jhy Dar.

Under-15: Lee Zii Jia, Mohd Syauqi Puzi, Ooi Zi Heng, V. Rooben Raj

Under-18: Bolriffin Khairul Tor, Boay Choon How, Andrew Liw Zheng Zhau, Ong Wei Lix, Ho Wei Chun, Mohd Rizal Roslan.


Under-12: Nur Syaza Roshidi, Amira Nabilah Humairah Yusrizal, Nur Shahira Mohd Puzi, Hng Wen Gee.

Under-15: Pearly Tan Koong Le, Kok Pei Xin, Ong Yu Thien

Under-18: Lee Zii Yi, Nor Hazwani Hazair, Lim Joe Shin, Jolynn Lim Chea Ru, Natalie Wong Yee Tong.


Most Viewed