X Close


Published: Sunday May 5, 2013 MYT 11:25:00 PM
Updated: Sunday May 5, 2013 MYT 11:34:05 PM

GE13: Pakatan Rakyat leads in Selangor

Subang Jaya incumbent Hannah Yeoh Subang Jaya incumbent Hannah Yeoh

KLANG: Pakatan Rakyat leads in Selangor at the moment.

The opposition coalition looks set to have retained Selangor, with a lead of 18 state seats at press time.

As at 10pm, the three-party coalition was leading in at least 22 seats, while Barisan Nasional had the advantage in four seats. There are 56 state seats in Selangor.

Subang Jaya incumbent Hannah Yeoh had unofficially won by a majority of more than 28,000 votes, while Lau Weng San (DAP) was defending his Kampung Tunku seat well with a lead of 7,414 votes.

"I am humbled by the huge majority but with a big mandate also comes big responsibility. It is also heartening to see the trend of younger voters coming out to vote," said Yeoh.

In Damansara Utama, newcomer Yeo Bee Yin (DAP) is set to win by a landslide, leading by 21,818 over Liew Wei Beng (Ind) and Lim Choon Kin (BN).

PKR's Shuhaimi Shafie was leading Barisan's Mohd Abdul Raof Mokhtar by 2,819 votes in Sri Muda, while Dr Xavier Jayakumar (PKR) was heading the race in Sri Andalas, with a gap of 426 votes separating him from T. Mohan (BN).

In Sekinchan, Ng Suee Lim (DAP) is leading Kek Seng Hooi (BN) by 1,183 votes, while Lai Nyuk Lan (DAP) was also ahead of Ng Chok Sin (BN) by 2,301 votes in Sungai Pelek.

In Teratai, another newcomer Tiew Way Keng (DAP) was in the lead with 10,287 more votes than her nearest contender, Ben Liew Pok Boon (BN). Former assemblyman Jenice Lee, who contested as an independent after being dropped by DAP, accepted the loss, saying she had done her best during the campaign period.

Tiew said she would fulfill her pledge to the residents made during the campaigning period which includes curbing crime, handling the highrise and hillslope issue as well as local comminity issues.

Meanwhile, Liew said he would review the senario with his party and think of a strategy to woo the voters, especially the Chinese.

"I may temporary close the Gerakan service centre to give chance to the newly elected assemblyman to service the public," he said.

In Tanjung Sepat, Mohd Hazlin Hassan (PAS) was leading by at least 2,195 votes, and in Dengkil, Borhan Aman Shah (PKR) had the edge by 272 votes.

Azmin Ali, who was leading the race for both the Gombak parliamentary and Bukit Antrabangsa state seats, said he was grateful that the people have acknowledged his contribution as an incumbent and continued to support him.

"They have seen my track record as the incumbent in these two places based on the services rendered to the people," he said.

When asked if he would succeed Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim as Mentri Besar, he said Pakatan would have a meeting to decide who will lead the state government.

Azmin's opponent in Gombak, Barisan's Datuk Dr Rahman Ismail, said he respected the wishes of the people.

"I will continue to serve the people through various non-governmental organisations in Gombak and I will continue practicing medicine.

" I am very open to the democracy system and that is why I never resorted to personal attacks during my campaign period," he said.

In Bukit Melawati, the count for Jakiran Jacomah (BN) was 6,437, with S. Manikavasagam trailing by 914 votes.

In Ijok, Dr Idris Ahmad (PKR) was in the lead with 7,805 votes over K. R. Parthiban (BN), who was trailing by 748 votes.

In Sungai Panjang, Budiman Mohd Zohdi (BN) was heading the race with 767 votes, while Datuk Amiruddin Setro (BN) was leading in Jeram by 3,395 votes.

Paya Jaras Barisan Nasional candidate Datuk Muhammad Bushro Mat Johor, who was speculated to be one of the Mentri Besar-designates, said he would continue to serve on the Opposition bench in the state assembly.

"But I promise to continue serving the people, especially my constituents," he said.


Most Viewed