X Close


Saturday May 4, 2013

Youngster Amirul plans to be next Zulfahmi


PETALING JAYA: Young rider Amirul Shafiq Ahmad Shahril Sham has nothing less than the top prize on his mind as the opening round of the SIC Ninja 250 Cup vroomed off in the Malaysia Super Series (MSS) yesterday.

The 14-year-old said that his aim is “to be the next Zulfahmi Khairuddin (Malaysian Moto3 rider)”.

“The bike feels good and I’m confident,” said the Form Two student of Sekolah Menengah Alma, Bukit Mertajam.

However, Amirul, who is the youngest on the grid, will have a mountain to climb today as he will start from 13th on the grid after clocking 2:50.768 in qualifying at the Sepang International Circuit (SIC) yesterday.

Muhammad Hafiza Rofa (2:41.057) and Muhammad Syafiq Rasol (2:41.809) secured the top two spots. Muhammad Aziq Jumali (2:44.179) completes the front row.

Supported by Kawasaki and managed by Bike Art Racing Team for the second consecutive year, the SIC Ninja 250 Cup was created to unearth young Malaysian talents and provide them with the opportunity to carry their career into the international arena – and ultimately the World Championships – following in the footsteps of Zulfahmi.

The SIC Ninja 250 Cup will run for five rounds.

Elsewhere in the MSS, last year’s runner-up Yasuhiro Kuhara blazed the track to take the Superbike pole position in 2:14.101 astride his Honda CBR1000.

Steve Martin was second in 2:14.755 and Luca Cassoni (Suzuki S1000RR) third in 2:14.900.




SIC Ninja 250 Cup: 1. Muhammad Hafiza Rofa 2:41.057, 2. Muhammad Shafiq Rasol 2:41.809, 3. Muhammad Aziq Jumali 2:44.179, 4. Muhammad Fairuz Nasir 2:44.479, 5. Siti Norafizah Muhammad 2:46.365.

Superbike: 1. Yasuhiro Kuhara (Honda CBR1000) 2:14.101, 2. Steve Martin 2:14.755, 3. Luca Cassoni (Suzuki S1000RR) 2:14.900.

Superstock: 1. Ahmad Nashrul Baharuddin (Kawasaki ZX10R) 2:13.592, 2. Nizam Fairuz Hassan (Honda CBR1000) 2:15.245, 3. Mohd Zairie Zaharuddin (Honda CBR1000) 2:16.862.

Supersports: 1. Muhammad Zaqhwan Zaidi (Honda CBR600) 2:13.207, 2. Ahmad Fuad Baharuddin (Kawasaki ZX6) 2:13.876, 3. Muhammad Haikal Akmal Zakaria (Honda CBR600) 2:18.961.

Open 250 Cup: 1. Muhammad Hafiza Rofa (Kawasaki) 2:26.519, 2. Muhammad Fazli Mansuar (Kawasaki) 2:45.518, 3. Stephen Ewan (Kawasaki) 2:46.092.


Most Viewed