X Close


Published: Sunday June 24, 2012 MYT 3:15:00 PM

Kenyans dominate 2012 KL Standard Chartered Marathon

KUALA LUMPUR: Long-distance runners from Kenya dominated the top spots in the men's and women's categories of the Standard Chartered KL Marathon 2012 here, today.

The defending champion, Kenyan long-distance runner Kennedy Kiproo Lilan won the marathon with a time of two hours 14 minutes and 45 seconds, defeating teammates Charles Mwai Kanyao and Japhet Kipchirchir Kipkorir who finished second and third respectively, clocking 2'15:22s and 2'16:37s in the 42.2km run which started and ended at the Dataran Merdeka.

Kennedy received US$17,500 (RM55,888) while Charles walked away with U$7,500(RM23,952) and Japhet had to be contented with US$5,000 (RM15,968).

"I'm so happy because this is my second time winning in the event. I am aiming for a hattrick in the 2013 KL Standard Chartered Marathon.

"Today, the condition and weather was pretty good, and I was not facing any problem or injury," he told reporters after receiving the prize, here.

About 28,000 participants, ranging from amateurs to elite professionals including 1,400 runners from 40 countries, took part in the race. Earlier, Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin presented prizes to the winners. Also present were Youth and Sports Minister Datuk Seri Ahmad Shabery Cheek and Standard Chartered Malaysia Berhad Chief Executive Officer Osman Morad.

Meanwhile, Kenya's Elizabeth Cheruiyot Chemwemo was named as the winner of the women's full marathon category for 42.2km ahead of Tigist Memuye Gebeyahu from Ethiopia, and Rose Kerubo Nyangacha (Kenya).

Elizabeth clocked her best time of 2'40:24s, while Tigist clocked 2'40:33s and Rose 2'41:00s.

The 36-year-old Kenyan received US$17,500 (RM55,888.35) while Tigist received US$7,500 (RM23,952) and Rose walked away with US$5,000 (RM15,968).

National long-distance runner, Shaharudin Hashim won in the full Marathon Malaysian Men's Category and Emelyn Teo won the Malaysian women's category .

Shaharudin and Emelyn each received US$2,500 (RM7,984)

"This is my third win in the KL Standard Chartered Marathon. I hope I can defend my title at the championship next year. I had made preparations for three months before the championship," said Shaharudin.

List of winners in the 2012 Standard Chartered Marathon :

Full Marathon Men's Open

1. Kennedy Kiproo Lilan (Kenya) 2 hours 14 minutes 45s

2. Charles Mwai Kanyao(Kenya)02'15:22s

3. Japhet Kipchirchir Kipkorir (Kenya) 02'16:37s

Full Marathon Women's Open

1. Elizabeth Jeruiyot Chemweno (Kenya) 2'40:24s

2. Tigist Memuye Gebeyahu(Ethiopia) 2'40:33s

3. Rose Kerubo Nyangacha(Kenya) 2'41:00s

Full Marathon Malaysian Men

1. Shaharudin Hashim2'42:27s

2. Fabian 01s

3. Foo Gen Lin2'54:01s

Full Marathon Malaysian Women

1. Ling Mee Eng3'36:48s

2. Emelyne Teo Jia Wei 3'39:36.s

3. Megan Foo Bee Fon3:40.16s - BERNAMA


Most Viewed