X Close


Published: Sunday April 8, 2012 MYT 7:15:00 PM

Britain's Chris Hoy wins men's keirin gold

MELBOURNE, Australia (AP): Britain's Chris Hoy produced a phenomenal late surge to overtake three riders and win the men's keirin title on the final day of the world track cycling championships Sunday.

With less than a quarter of a lap remaining, Hoy overtook countryman Jason Kenny and swooped between leaders Max Levy of Germany and New Zealander Simon Van Velthooven to claim the inside of the track and the gold medal.

Levy took the silver and Van Velthooven the bronze at Melbourne's Hisense Arena.

Australia's Anna Meares set a world record to reclaim the women's time trials title.

Meares sprinted the 500 meters in a time of 33.010 seconds to eclipse the previous mark of 33.296 set by Simona Krupeckaite of Lithuania at Pruszkow, Poland in 2009.

Miriam Welte of Germany finished second in 33.626, with Britain's Jessica Varnish third in 33.999.

Meares, who previously won the world time trials title in 2004, 2007 and 2010, earned her second winner's rainbow jersey of this meet after defending her keirin title Saturday. She won bronze in Friday's sprint.

"My form has just been phenomenal this week and I'm really pleased with how I've carried it through the five days of competition," Meares said.

"There's five days of competition in London (for the Olympics) and I've got to back up every single day as though it's the first day of racing."

Meares didn't race the time trials last year to concentrate on Olympic events, but was determined to compete in front of her home crowd.

"This was where I won my first world title eight years ago in the same event and tonight I walk away with my 10th world title."

Alison Shanks of New Zealand won the women's individual pursuit title by beating Britain's Wendy Houvenaghel by more than two seconds.

Shanks produced a time of 3:30.199 to comfortably beat Houvenaghel on 3:32.350. Ashlee Ankudinoff beat Amy Cure for bronze in an all-Australian third-place race.

Shanks first won the title in 2009 at Pruszkow before conceding to world record holder Sarah Hammer of the United States in 2010 and 2011.

"Once you've had that feeling once, you want it again even more," Shanks said. "To come out and be a world champion again, it's super exciting."

The men's 50-kilometer madison will also be held later Sunday.


Most Viewed