X Close


Monday November 19, 2012

Germany win Sultan of Johor Cup on their debut

Champions: The German hockey team celebrating their triumph yesterday. — ABDUL RAHMAN EMBONG / The Star Champions: The German hockey team celebrating their triumph yesterday. — ABDUL RAHMAN EMBONG / The Star

JOHOR BARU: Reigning junior world champions Germany added the Sultan of Johor Cup to their collection when they defeated India 3-2 in a thrilling final at the Taman Daya Hockey Stadium.

The tenacious Germans were worthy winners although India were the favourites as they had made the final unbeaten. Germany, on the other hand, had lost to Malaysia and India in the preliminary round.

Germany, who reached the final on goal difference, played a fast and clinical game to subdue the Indians.

Jonas Gomoll gave Germany the lead in the 11th minute with a drag-flick goal high into the net from a penalty corner.

Hardworking India were rewarded for their efforts in the 24th minute when Satbir Singh deflected a cross from Sukhmanjit Singh into goal for the equaliser.

The Germans then made good their second penalty corner in the 30th minute when Joshua Delarber scored with a drag-flick as well.

Germany started aggressively in the second half and easily picked up their third goal in the 49th minute – thanks to a stagnant Indian defence line.

Niklas Wellen took the ball to the right and centred for an unmarked Florian Adrians, who easily slotted the ball past India goalkeeper Sushant Trkey.

Akashdeep Singh managed to pull a goal back in the 66th minute but Germany held on for a winning debut in the tournament.

Australia clinched third place by defeating Pakistan 3-2 in extra time. The match ended 2-2 in regulation time and, five minutes into the extra time, Australia’s Jayshaan Randhawa netted the golden goal from a penalty corner set-piece.

The Aussies, who finished second last year, found the net in the ninth minute when Cassey Hammond ran into the D and had only Pakistan goalkeeper Mahzar Abbas in front of him. He duly tucked the ball away for the opening goal.

Two minutes later, the Australians took a firm grip on the match when skipper Dylan Wotherspoon ran into the D from the left and beat Mahzar with an angled shot.

Pakistan were more adventurous in the second half and Mohamed Irfan reduced the deficit in the 49th minute.

Pakistan found the equaliser in the 66th minute through Rizwan Ali to force the game into extra-time.

The Aussies netted the golden goal five minutes into extra-time to claim third place.


Most Viewed