X Close


Monday October 1, 2012

Seven schools chosen for pioneer golf programme

PETALING JAYA: Seven schools in Kuala Lumpur and Selangor have been chosen to take part in a pioneer golf programme at the grassroots level run by the Malaysian Golf Association (MGA) and Education Ministry.

They are Sekolah Kebangsaan Bandar Utama Damansara II, Sekolah Menengah Kebangsaan St John, Sekolah Menengah Kebangsaan Sri Hartamas, Sekolah Menengah Kebangsaan Jalan Empat Bandar Baru Bangi, Sekolah Kebangsaan Bukit Damansara, Sekolah Kebangsaan St John I and Sekolah Kebangsaan Saujana Impian.

PGM vice-president Datuk Mohamed Zain Yusuf said the programme would be partially funded by the government to the tune of RM500,000 a year.

Each school would pick a maximum of 35 students to join the programme, he said after officiating the Sekolah Kebangsaan Bandar Utama Damansara II golf programme yesterday.

He added that PGM had given special golf training to 44 teachers nationwide since the end of 2011 to facilitate the programme. — Bernama


Most Viewed