X Close


Published: Saturday June 5, 2010 MYT 4:32:00 PM
Updated: Saturday June 5, 2010 MYT 5:21:32 PM

King presents awards to 39 people at investiture

KUALA LUMPUR: Puan Sri Noor Ainee Che Teh received from Yang di-Pertuan Agong Tuanku Mizan Zainal Abidin the Seri Setia Mahkota Malaysia (SSM) on Saturday carrying the title "Tun" awarded posthumously to her late husband, former Putrajaya Corporation president and former Petronas president Tan Sri Azizan Zainul Abidin, at an investiture at Istana Negara where 38 other people also received awards.

Azizan, who was a respected corporate leader in both the public and private sectors, died on July 14, 2004 at the age of 68.

He was one of the 1,626 people who have been bestowed awards and medals in conjunction with the birthday of the Yang di-Pertuan Agong on Saturday.

At the investiture, two people received the Panglima Mangku Negara (PMN) award which carries the title "Tan Sri".

They are Chief of Defence Forces Gen Tan Sri Azizan Ariffin and Public Service Department Director-General Tan Sri Ismail Adam.

Sixteen people received the Panglima Setia Mahkota (PSM) award that also carries the title "Tan Sri".

They are Federal Court judges Datuk Zulkefli Ahmad Makinudin and Datuk Wira Mohd Ghazali Mohd Yusoff, Higher Education Ministry secretary-general Datuk Dr Zulkefli A. Hassan, Inland Revenue Board chief executive officer/director-general Datuk Hasmah Abdullah, Sultan Idris University of Education pro-chancellor Datuk Seri Abdul Shukor Abdullah.

National Heart Institute (IJN) medical director Datuk Seri Dr Robaayah Zambahari, former Rural and Regional Development Minister Datuk Seri Abdul Aziz Shamsuddin, former Natural Resources and Environment Minister Datuk Seri Adenan Satem, former Human Resource Minister Datuk Seri Dr Fong Chan Onn.

Former Perak Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Tajol Rosli Ghazali, former Pahang Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Abdul Rashid Abdul Rahman, Universiti Sains Islam Malaysia (USIM) World Fatwa Management and Research Institute (INFAD) director (INFAD) Prof Datuk Dr Abdul Shukor Husin.

The Store Corporation Berhad managing director Datuk Seri Tang Yeam Soon, former Deputy Agriculture Minister Prof Datuk Dr T. Marimuthu and Zul Rafique Associates arbitrator and solicitor Datuk Cecil Wilbert Mohanaraj Abraham.

Indonesian police chief Police General Drs Bambang Hendarso Danusri received the PSM (Honorary) award.

Sixteen people received the Panglima Jasa Negara (PJN) which carries the title "Datuk".

They are Solicitor General II Datuk Mohd Yusof Zainal Abiden, Foreign Ministry deputy secretary-general Datuk Mohd Radzi Abdul Rahman, Deputy Auditor General Datuk Azizah Arshad, Advocate & Solicitor/Partner of Shahidan Fazli Nawawi & Partners Mohd Nawawi Ismail.

Gerakan committee member Lee Ah Fat, Parti Bersatu Rakyat Sabah (PBRS) vice-president Sheah Zwat Tsang alias Vincent Shia, Kapit Member of Parliament and Sarawak Barisan Nasional Back Benchers Club (BNBBC) vice-chairman Alexander Nanta Linggi, People's Progressive Party (PPP) treasurer-general D. Gnanasambantham.

Parti Bersatu Sabah (PBS) secretary-general Henrynus Amin, Kanowit Member of Parliament Aaron Ago Dagang, Symphony House Berhad group chief executive Datuk Mohamed Azman Yahya, Artistes Association of Malaysia film director and script writer Datuk Jamil Sulong.

INNO Serangkai Sdn Bhd executive chairman Datuk Wan Ahmad Fauzi Hashim alias Wan Husain, Malaysian Industrial Development Finance Berhad managing director Mohd Najib Abdullah and former News Straits Times group editor Hardev Kaur.

Head of the National Narcotics Agency of the Indonesian National Police, Drs Gories Mere, received the PJN (Honorary).

Four people received the Panglima Setia Diraja (PSD) award which carries the title "Datuk". They are Federal Territory Mufti Datuk Wan Zahidi Wan Teh, Malaysian Ambassador to Japan Datuk Shaharuddin Md Som, Senior Consultant Physician and Gastroentrologist of Putrajaya Hospital Datuk Dr Ahmad Shukri Md Salleh alias Embat and Head of Medical Services of Prince Court Medical Centre Sdn Bhd Dr Ryan Ponnudurai. - Bernama


Most Viewed