X Close


Published: Thursday November 4, 2010 MYT 8:07:00 AM
Updated: Thursday November 4, 2010 MYT 10:24:28 PM

Batu Sapi: Linda Tsen wins by whopping 6,359 majority

Photo Gallery

Live updates:
8.30pm: Official result: BN wins Batu Sapi by whopping 6,359 majority. Linda Tsen (BN) 9773; Yong Teck Lee (SAPP) 2031; Ansari Abdullah (PKR) 3414.

Tsen posing for photographs after the results were announced at the Sandakan community hall

7.50pm: Count for 30 streams announced. Linda Tsen leads with 5,467 votes followed by Ansari 2,427 votes and Yong 1,306 votes.

7.30pm: Returning officer Mohd Hamsan Awang Supain announces tally for 10 (of 45) streams. Linda Tsen leads with 1,440 votes followed by Ansari with 697 votes and Yong with 331 votes.

7.20pm: "It is an uphill battle but we will never stop fighting," said Ansari when asked about his chances of winning.

6.55pm:SAPP's Datuk Yong Teck Lee arrives with his supporters.

6.45pm: PKR's Ansari Abdullah arrives at the vote counting centre.

6.30pm: Three ballot boxes brought to Sandakan community hall for tallying.

6.30pm: BN sources say exit polls show Linda Tsen as winning the parliamentary seat by more than 2,000 votes.

5.30pm: Voter turnout at 5pm 15,774 or 61.47%.

4.45pm: Some 100 Barisan supporters gather across the street outside Sandakan community hall (vote counting centre), cheering, clapping and shouting slogans

4.30pm: At 4pm, the voter turnout was 14,725 voters or 57.56% of the electorate.

4pm: Sekong polling district closes. The Tronglit district closed an hour earlier. Polling continues at 10 other districts until 5pm.

3.30pm: At 3pm, the voter turnout was 13,318 voters or 52.06% of the electorate.

2.30pm: Voters turnout at 2pm is 11,876 voters or 46.42%.

1.30pm: 1pm voter turnout is 41.06% or 10,505 voters, according to the EC.

12.30pm: According to the EC, at noon, 9,261 voters or 36.20% of the electorate, had shown up to choose the new MP of Batu Sapi.

11.30am: Voter turnout at 11am is 7,313 or 28.59% of the electorate.

11am: Light rain and hazy conditions over parts of Batu Sapi.

10.45am: BN candidate Linda Tsen Thau Lin arrives for a visit at Pei Ying Primary school polling centre.

10.15am: As at 10am, 23.05% of the total electorate or 5,897 voters had shown up to cast their ballots.

10am: Dark clouds hang over Batu Sapi.

Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin visits the SJKC Pei Ying polling centre, where SAPP's Yong Teck Lee also arrived earlier.

9.45am: The Election Commission (EC) at the Sandakan Community Hall announces that 14.68% or 3,756 voters have turned up at the polling centres, as at 9am.

9am: Slow start at Sandakan library at the Jalan Leila polling centre, with only BN flag flying. Vehicles are bringing in voters. The crowd lining outside Pulau Timbang is much bigger.

8.30am: Polling centres open their doors for voters to enter. At Pulau Timbang, Kinabatangan MP Bung Mokhtar Radin among those at Barisan ops centre as voters arrive by boat and line up.

7.45am: Ferried in small boats from various islands to Pulau Timbang from the first light of dawn were Bajaus and Suluks living in water villagers. They cast their votes at SK Pulau Timbang in Kg Tronglit where 984 voters are registered. The centre will be first to conclude voting at 3pm.

At Kg Seguliud, the furthermost polling center about 70kms from here, farmers of the Sungai community also turned up early at the SK Segaliud which has a total of 785 voters. It will close at 4pm and the remaining 10 centres will conclude voting at 5pm.

SANDAKAN: Fine weather greeted early voters, mostly farmers and fishermen, who began arriving at some of the 12 polling centres, well before opening time. However, the weather man has predicted a cloudy afternoon.

Barisan Nasional's Datin Linda Tsen Thau Lin of Parti Bersatu Sabah (PBS) takes on SAPP president Datuk Yong Teck Lee and PKR's Ansari Abdullah in a three-cornered contest for the Batu Sapi parliamentary seat.

The seat fell vacant following the death of incumbent and two-term MP, Datuk Edmund Chong, in an accident on Oct 9. Tsen is his widow.

Chong won the seat in the 2008 general election by a 3,708-majority, defeating independent candidate Dr Chung Kong Wing. Chong won the same seat in 2004 general election unopposed.

Batu Sapi has 25,582 voters, of whom 24,047 are ordinary voters and 1,535 postal voters.

A total of 15,099 or 59.02% of the voters are Muslim Bumiputras, 689 non-Muslim Bumiputras (2.69%), 9,737 Chinese (38.06%) and others, 57 (0.22%).


Most Viewed