X Close


Monday October 4, 2010

Boo Chang wins Bukit Gelugor PKR division

GEORGE TOWN: Former Gerakan and MCA assemblyman Lim Boo Chang created an upset when he defeated PKR deputy secretary-general S. Raveentharan to secure the Bukit Gelugor PKR division chief’s post.

Lim garnered 309 votes while the incumbent division head Raveentharan received 176 votes.

PKR election Wong Hoy Cheong, who announced the results, said there were 11 spoilt votes.

Despite parading many Penang PKR assemblymen as his supporters, Raveentharan could not outbid Lim, a seasoned politician who has served many posts in Barisan Nasional before joining PKR in 2008.

Despite a heated fight, the two lawyers reconciled after the results were announced.

Lim said he was willing to compromise and forget about the past.

Raveentharan, who is also Batu Uban assemblyman, congratulated Lim and wished him the best.

The division nominated Datuk Zaid Ibrahim for the PKR deputy president post while Datuk Mansor Othman, Nurul Izzah Anwar and Azmin Ali were named for the PKR vice-presidents slots.


Most Viewed