X Close


Friday February 22, 2008

Yong locked out of race after failing to wrangle KK

KOTA KINABALU: Datuk Yong Teck Lee, the Sabah Progressive Party president, was hoping to make a political comeback after a five-year ban for an election offence.

However, he has found himself cornered, failing to wrangle the Kota Kinabalu parliamentary seat held by Parti Bersatu Sabah while sticking to his promise of not taking the seat of any of his party incumbents, effectively putting him out of the state line-up.

SPP retained Datuk Eric Majimbun for Sepanggar parliament seat and state seat incumbents – Melanie Chia (Luyang), Datuk Liew Teck Chan (Likas), Datuk Raymond Tan (Tanjung Papat) and Au Kam Wah (Elopura) – while bringing back woman leader Datuk Chua Soon Bui for the Tawau parliament seat of Datuk Shim Paw Fatt.

Asked about Yong’s position, Chief Minister Datuk Musa Aman said Barisan had to maintain its seat sharing formula.

PBS president Datuk Joseph Pairin Kitingan who had insisted on his party holding on to Kota Kinabalu said: “Everything was discussed at the national level.” Pairin is defending his Keningau parliament and Tambunan state seat.

He named lawyer Chin Tek Ming for the Kota Kinabalu seat vacated by Datuk Dr Yee Moh Chai who is only defending the Api Api state seat.

The Tandek state seat of Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Datuk Dr Maximus Ongkili, who is defending his Kota Marudu MP seat, went to his party’s division deputy chief Anita Baranting.

Musa, the state Barisan chairman, said MCA president Datuk Seri Ong Ka Ting had asked him to announce that Datuk Edward Khoo would be defending his Kapayan state seat.

He also said the names of candidates from Upko (four MPs and five state), the Liberal Democratic Party (one MP and three state) and Parti Bersatu Rakyat Sabah (one MP and one state) would be made known tomorrow by the respective party presidents.

Dompok, a minister in the Prime Minister’s Department and Upko president, has indicated to his supporters that he might not be defending his Ranau parliament seat.

However, he is expected to bring back Upko deputy president Datuk Wilfred Bumburing in place of Tuaran MP Datuk Wilfred Tangau with party vice-president Datuk Siringan Gubat taking Dompok’s place in Ranau.

LDP president Datuk V.K. Liew is likely to contest the Sandakan parliament seat while PBRS president Tan Sri Joseph Kurup is expected to move from his Sook state seat to the Pensiangan parliament seat.


Most Viewed