X Close


Published: Sunday January 20, 2013 MYT 12:44:00 PM

Cricket: Australia win toss and bat against Sri Lanka

SYDNEY: Australia won the toss and elected to bat against Sri Lanka in the fourth one-day international at the Sydney Cricket Ground on Sunday.

Sri Lanka seized a 2-1 lead in the five-match series on Friday when they beat Australia by four wickets in Brisbane, bowling out the hosts for just 74 runs. Australia won the Test series 3-0.


Australia: Michael Clarke (capt), David Warner, Phillip Hughes, George Bailey, David Hussey, Matthew Wade, Moises Henriques, Mitchell Johnson, Mitchell Starc, Clint McKay, Xavier Doherty

Sri Lanka: Mahela Jayawardene (capt), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Lahiru Thirimanne, Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal, Kushal Perera, Jeevan Mendis, Thisara Perera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Lasith Malinga, Rangana Herath

Umpires: Marais Erasmus (RSA) and Paul Reiffel (AUS) Match Referee: Javagal Srinath (IND)

Third Umpire: Richard Kettleborough (ENG) - AFP


  1. M'sia can learn from Indonesian polls
  2. Betong blast: Avoid travelling to southern Thailand, says IGP
  3. Betong blast: 100kg homemade car bomb behind deadly explosion
  4. Betong blast: Car bomb kills three, Malaysian among 36 injured in southern Thailand
  5. Grrr! Science proves dog jealousy is a real thing
  6. IGP Khalid warns netizens not to spread false news of Selangor prince
  7. Selangor MB crisis: Hadi wants Khalid to continue as Mentri Besar
  8. 2014: A tragic year for aviation
  9. International community in awe of PM’s handling of MH17 tragedy
  10. Experts: Get set for an acute water shortage