X Close


Saturday January 14, 2012

767 to get Negri awards

SEREMBAN: Tunku Iskandar Tunku Abdullah, a member of the Negri Sembilan royal family, heads the list of recipients of awards and honours in conjunction with the 64th birthday celebration of the Yang di-Pertuan Besar Tuanku Muhriz Tuanku Munawir today.

He will be conferred the Darjah Setia Tuanku Muhriz Yang Amat Terbilang (SSTM) which carries the title Datuk Seri.

Tunku Iskandar, a graduate of University of Strathclyde in Britain, is currently the non-independent, non-executive director of Melewar Industrial Group Bhd and sits on the boards of MAA Holdings Bhd, MBF Holdings Bhd and Melewar Group Bhd. He is also chairman of Mycron Steel Bhd.

State recognition: (From left) Tunku Iskandar, Chai, Daljeet and Prof Mahmood Nazar are among the award recipients.

A total of 767 people will receive their titles and awards from Tuanku Muhriz at Istana Besar Seri Menanti in Kuala Pilah.

Tuanku Muhriz would also bestow the Darjah Dato' Paduka Negeri Sembilan (DPNS) award which carries the title Datuk to state Syariah Court head Mohd Shukor Sabudin, Education Ministry deputy secretary-general Nazirruddin Abd Rahman and Samsung SDI president Park Sang-jin.

Others are former Armed Forces chief Lt Jen (Rtd) Datuk Seri Zaini Mohd Said, Raja Abd Halim Raja Abd Razak, Sim Teck Seng, E. Sreesanthan and Tunku Haitham Tunku Sulong.

The six recipients of the Darjah Setia Tuanku Muhriz Yang Amat Gemilang (DSTM) award, which also carries the title Datuk, are Datuk Koay Soon Eng, Leong Hong Tole, Dr S. Mahendra Raj, Dr B. Meheshinder Singh, Yayasan Sofa founder Syeikh Muhammad Fuad Kamaludin al-Maliki and lawyer Datuk Yeow Wah Chin.

Among the recipients of the Darjah Setia Bakti Negeri Sembilan (DBNS), which carries the title Datuk, include state Education director Abdul Halim Abdul Razak, Commando 69 commander Senior Asst Comm Azizan Abd Aziz, MCA social activist Chai Fa Fui, state Sikh Union adviser K. Daljeet Singh, Gerakan social activist Chang Khee Choong and Tuanku Ja'afar Hospital rheumatology specialist Dr Gan Suk Chyn.

Others include Malaysian ambassador to Bangladesh Jamaluddin Sabeh, Armed Forces Religious Corp director Brig-Gen Mustafa Abdul Manap and National Anti-Dadah Agency deputy director-general Prof Mahmood Nazar Mohamed.

Among others are Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia deputy vice-chancellor Prof Saran Kaur Gill, MIC state secretary S. Rajandran, Jempol Umno deputy head Salim Mohd Shariff, Implementation and Coordination Unit director Rosni Abdul Malek, Agriculture and Agro-based Industries deputy secretary-general Raihan Sharif and Mercy Malaysia technical adviser Saifullizan Osman.

Former state PPP head Sahul Hameed Shaik Mohaideen, Air Force deputy head of staff Brig-Jen Datuk Zulkafli Mohd Nor, Kejora Ikhlas Sdn Bhd managing director Mohammd Rodzi Awang Kechek, businessmen Mohd Raihan Yusuf Teh and Zainal Bachik, Ahmad Shuhaimi Razak, Datuk Alimudin Sawal, Prof Dr Rahmah Mohamed, Datuk A. Thevasagayam, Yong Kok Heng and Zainal Bahari are also included.

Twenty-eight people will get the Darjah Setia Negeri Sembilan, Darjah Tuanku Muhriz (three), Darjah Pekerti Terpilih (13), Ahli Setia Negeri Sembilan (98), Pingat Khidmat Cemerlang Masyarakat (211), Pingat Jasa Kebaktian (342), Pingat Khidmat Lama (26) and Bentara Tuanku Muhriz (four).


  1. Search for missing Air Algerie plane carrying 116 people
  2. Air Algerie loses contact with plane over west Africa
  3. US teenager who was circling globe in plane dies in crash
  4. MH17: Victims remembered at Glasgow games opening
  5. Grandma robbed, stabbed to death, with granddaughter in next room
  6. MH17: 'Mummy, I am back to being alone'
  7. TransAsia Airways plane crashes in typhoon-hit Taiwan, 47 dead
  8. Woman bashed up after honking error
  9. ‘Our lives turned upside down in a day’
  10. Ukrainian villagers recall how victims dropped onto streets and houses