X Close


Published: Saturday July 4, 2009 MYT 3:07:00 PM

Datuk Wong Foon Meng is the next Senate president

KUALA LUMPUR : Senate deputy president Datuk Wong Foon Meng is the next Senate president, taking over from outgoing president Tan Sri Dr Abdul HamidPawanteh on July 7.

Dr Abdul Hamid Pawanteh retires on July 6, after serving six years or two terms as a senator.

A motion will be tabled in Senate on July 7 naming Wong, who is into his second term as deputy, as the Senate president.

Article 56 of the Federal Constitution states that the Senate shall choose one of its members to be the Yang di-Pertuan Dewan Negara, or the Senate president and one to be the Deputy President of the Senate.

It also limits the tenure of a senator to two terms only.

With a total of six senators from Pakatan Rakyat states - Kelantan, Kedah and Penang, it is unlikely that they would be able to elect a Senate president of their choice in the Senate, now comprising 65 members.

On July 6, Senator Mumtaz Md Mawi, from Kelantan, will take her oath to serve a second term while two from Penang - Tunku Abdul Aziz Tunku Ibrahim and Mustafa Kamal Mohd Yusoff - would also be sworn in.


  1. Karpal Singh: He never feared defeat, says Guan Eng
  2. Karpal Singh, my loving husband
  3. MERS virus: 64 villagers from Kampung Bintang quarantined for a week
  4. A fighter and a gentleman
  5. I had no idea it was Karpal, says lorry driver
  6. Penang to give Karpal funeral with state honours
  7. Karpal Singh: Khairy tells Perkasa’s Zulkifli to ‘shut up’ over insensitive tweets
  8. Karpal Singh: Lorry driver in crash tested positive for ganja
  9. Karpal Singh: Photo Gallery
  10. Karpal dies: Highly emotional family members arrive at Kampar hospital mortuary