X Close


Sunday March 9, 2008

Ku Li now longest-serving MP

KOTA BARU: Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah is now the longest-serving MP after he won the Gua Musang seat.  

More popularly known as Ku Li, the former finance minister retained the seat by defeating PAS’ Zulkefli Mohamed by a 4,394-vote majority. 

Tengku Razaleigh, 71, polled 14,063 votes while Zulkefli obtained 9,669 votes. Gua Musang has 29,986 registered voters.  

With this latest success, Ku Li set a record by successfully defending the seat, which he first won uncontested in 1974. 

The seat was previously known as Ulu Kelantan.  

A former bank officer, Tengku Razaleigh joined Umno in 1962 and his first outing at the hustings was in 1969. That year, he won the Ulu Kelantan Barat state seat, beating a PAS candidate. 

He moved on to the parliamentary level in 1974 and since then has been the MP of Gua Musang. He set up the Semangat 46 party in 1989 after Umno was declared an unlawful party by the court. 

He later rejoined Umno, but did not hold any government post.  

Before Parliament was dissolved on Feb 13, Sarawak Chief Minister Tan Sri Abdul Taib Mahmud was the longest-serving MP. 

Taib had been Kota Samarahan MP since 1970 but in this election, he made way for his son, Datuk Seri Sulaiman, to contest the seat. – Bernama  


  1. Malaysian passport 9th best in the world
  2. Japanese oil tanker robbed, three crew believed kidnapped in dramatic dawn raid
  3. KL set to be in 'security lockdown'
  4. Wanted: A rational water plan
  5. 'Godfather' believed to have killed 13-year-old boy
  6. Every kind of success in life depends on our virtues as a person
  7. Brave boy comforts family
  8. College staff turn to loan sharks after salaries unpaid for four months
  9. David Moyes parts ways with Manchester United, Ryan Giggs temporarily takes charge
  10. Selangor MB Khalid: Can't stop water rationing yet, but will review next week