X Close


Friday February 22, 2008

States banking on fresh faces

MYT 8:39:31 PM

IPOH: PKR revealed many fresh faces in its state line-ups.

Perak chairman Zulkifly Ibrahim said he will be going up against Umno’s Datuk Wan Khairil Anuar Wan Ahmad for the Bukit Chandan state seat.

The Perak PKR line-up will see 18 fresh faces - six for parliamentary and 12 for state seats.

The parliamentary seats are Bagan Serai, Padang Rengas, Tambun, Gopeng, Tapah, Pasir Salak, Lumut, Bagan Datok, Tanjung Malim and Sungai Siput.

The state seats are Pengkalan Hulu, Temengor, Kota Tampan, Batu Kurau, Kuala Kurau, Alor Pongsu, Kuala Sapetang, Changkat Jering, Lintang, Hulu Kinta, Bukit Chandan, Bota, Tualang Sekah, Simpang Pulai, Teja, Chenderiang, Sungai Manik, Pangkor, Hutan Melintang and Behrang.

Newcomer Mohd Azman Marjahan will be pitted against Perak MCA chairman Datuk Ong Ka Chuan for the Tanjung Malim parliamentary seat.

PKR vice-president Dr Lee Boon Chye, who is also a cardiologist, will be fielded in the Gopeng parliamentary seat, against Datuk Ling Hee Leong, son of former MCA president Tun Dr Ling Liong Sik.

Parti Sosialis Malaysia central committee member Dr D. Jeyakumar will be contesting on the PKR ticket against MIC president Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu for the incumbent MP’s Sungai Siput seat.

PKR vice-president Mustaffa Kamil Ayub will be the only candidate contesting for two seats - the Pasir Salak parliamentary seat and one of the constituency’s state seats, Sungai Manik, against Umno’s Kampung Gajah incumbent assemblyman Datuk Tajuddin Abdul Rahman and newcomer Zainol Padzi Paharudin respectively.

In MALACCA, the party announced that it would field a total of 10 candidates for polls.

Malacca PKR liaison committee chairman Khalid Jaafar confirmed that the party would be contesting for three parliamentary seats and seven state seats.

Khalid, who has contested twice unsuccessfully in Malacca since 1999, will go against Umno fresh face Datuk Md Sirat Abu for the Bukit Katil parliamentary seat.

The other parliamentary seats to be contested by PKR are the Tangga Batu and Jasin seats. The state seats to be contested in are Ayer Limau, Rembia, Gadek, Machap, Sungai Udang, Paya Rumput and Rim.

In JOHOR BARU, PKR state chief Ahmad Faidhi said the party would be contesting for 10 state and 10 parliament seats.

“Most of (our candidates this time) are below 40 years old. There will also be three women contestants competing for one state and two parliament seats,” he said.

Ahmad said that the parliament seats contested by the party are Muar, Gelang Patah, Sekijang, Ledang, Sri Gading, Batu Pahat, Sembrong, Penggerang, Pasir Gudang and Pontian.

As for the state seats, the party aimed to claim Tiram, Kemelah, Bukit Naning, Semerah, Layang-Layang, Kahang, Tanjung Surat, Puteri Wangsa, Tanjung Puteri and Bukit Batu.

“The candidates are from various professions such as businessmen, doctors, teachers and lawyers,” he said.


  1. Lawyer suffocates in attempt to rescue puppies from metre-deep hole
  2. Firefly flight bound for Kota Baru forced to turn back
  3. When the world turns upside down
  4. Malacca treasure no longer a myth
  5. The Obama double in Malaysia
  6. TV series 'Indian Summers' to be shot in Penang
  7. Babysitter swings one-year-old - and kills her instead
  8. Couple die after taking poison
  9. Malaysian passport 9th best in the world
  10. Japanese oil tanker robbed, three crew believed kidnapped in dramatic dawn raid