Sunday, 1 June 2014 | MYT 8:43 PM

Cub Prix: Lucky Zaq wins fourth round in Malacca

Mohd Zaqhwan Zaidi (centre) does a victory jig on the podium after winning Round Four of the Malaysian Cub Prix in Malacca on Sunday.

Mohd Zaqhwan Zaidi (centre) does a victory jig on the podium after winning Round Four of the Malaysian Cub Prix in Malacca on Sunday.

PETALING JAYA: Mohd Zaqhwan Zaidi fought back from a dismal start to win Round Four of the CP130 category in the Petronas AAM Malaysian Cub Prix Championship in Malacca.

The Givi Honda Yuzy Racing rider was second on the starting grid but found himself fifth after the first lap as Harian Metro Y-TEQ SCK Honda Racing’s Norizman Ismail and Mohd Fitri Ashraff Razali opened a comfortable gap.

The 19-year-old Zaqhwan, however, caught up with Norizman, who suffered technical difficulties, to finish the 18-lap race in 14;54.947 for his third win of the season.

Norizman managed to cross the finish line in second with a time of 14:57.588 while Ahmad Afif Amran of Petronas Yamaha CKJ clocked 15:01.013 to finish third.

“My race today was filled with mistakes,” said Zaqhwan who will compete in the World Superbike Championship (WSBK) in Sepang next week as a wildcard entry.

“I did not have the best of starts in the race and I was not really confident of catching up on Norizman. But my team gave me a flawless bike.

“I was also lucky that Norizman suffered technical problems because he could have easily won the race. I am really happy with this win and credit go to the team for another successful race,” said Zaqhwan.

With this win, Zaqhwan pulled ahead in the championship standings with 75 points, followed by Ahmad Afif (65) and Norizman (53).

In the CP115 class, Motul Yamaha YY Pang’s Zaidy Mohd Zaifaizal clinched his second straight win of the season.

The Penang-born rider finished strongly in the 15-lap race with a time of 12:47.227. Givi Honda Yuzy Racing’s Amirul Ariff Musa came in second in 12:49.020 and M Seki Liverty Honda’s Mohd Syafiq Rosli was third in 12:49.730.

Khairul Idham Pawi, meanwhile, celebrated a hat-trick of wins in the age-capped Wira class, thus boosting his confidence ahead of the inaugural Suzuka 2-Hour Endurance Race in Japan this weekend.

The Kozi Yam Honda Racing rider had an uninterrupted race, taking off from pole to finish the 12-lap race in 10:23.513. Felda Pbafb Tech Racing’s Saiful Izman Ahmad Zamani was second in 10:37.929s while Jetron Apido Team PJM’s Afiki Supaat clocked 10:40.008 to grab the last spot on the podium.

Round Five of the championship will be held in Temerloh, Pahang, on June 21-22.

Tags / Keywords: Mohd Zaqhwan Zaidi , Malaysian Cub Prix Championships , CP130 , racing , motor , Honda , Yamaha


Most Viewed

Powered by