Friday, 7 March 2014 | MYT 6:02 PM

Thunderbolt biggest feeder to Project 2016 squad

KUALA LUMPUR: Seven SSTMI-Thunderbolt players will spearhead the 25-member Project 2016 training squad.

UniKL and Politeknik Johor are contributing six players each while three Sabahans who play for Olak-PKT are also named in the team.

The other three players in the list come from Anderson, MBPJ and MSP Pahang Juniors.

Project 2016 chief coach A. Arulselvaraj named the team on Friday and said that the squad was picked based on their availability until the Junior World Cup in 2016.

“There are three other players who are aged 20 and training with the senior team. They are part of the team for the Junior Asia Cup next year, which is the qualifier for the Junior World Cup.

“They will remain with the national team until we need them or they are dropped from the senior squad.

“The 25 players we picked are all either 18 or 19 years old. They are all eligible for the Finals in 2016. We have a little over two years to prepare the team and we need to make sure they get as much exposure as possible,” he said.

Arulselvaraj said that the programme this year is rather low-key with one tour (either Australia or Europe) and three tournaments for the team.

“He said they will play in the Razak Cup and the Malaysia Hockey League (MHL) as a team and also in the Sultan of Johor Cup,” he added.

Arulselvaraj also named five other players on attachment with the training team.

The Project 2016 training squad:

Mohamed Aminudin Mohd Zain, Mohamed Najmi Farizal Jazlan, Mohamed Najib Abu Hassan, Mohamed Firdaus Omar, Mohamed Sufi Ismat Rohulamin, Azril Misron, Mohamed Amirol Aideed Md Arshad (all SSTMI-Thunderbolt), Mohd Adi Fazri Ab Rahim (Gk), Ahmad Ashraf Alias, Nor Azrul Abd Rahman, Jamil Johari Ghazali, Mohamed Azwar Abd Rahman, Noshafiq Sumantri (all UniKL), Mohd Ashran Hamsani, Mohd Kamarul Arrifin Kamaruddin, Safeed Roslan, Mohd Ridzwan Azmi (Gk), Luqman Nur Hakim Saiful, Mohamed Fareed Rasidi (all Politeknik Johor), Maxhans Christi, Mawardi Hamirin, Mohd Shabariq Shamsuri (all Olak-PKT), S. Deveandran (Anderson), Mohamed Amirul Mohd Yusuf (Gk) (MSP Pahang Juniors), Zul Pidaus Mizun (MBPJ).

On attachment: Mohd Hafif Elkan, Mohamed Haikal Zamri, Rafizul Ezry Mustafa (all UniKL), Mohd Helmi Jaafar, Mohamed Nor Ikhwan Nor Rahman (both MBPJ).

Tags / Keywords: Thunderbolt , hockey , world cup , Anderson , UniKL , Olak , politeknik , Johor


Most Viewed

Powered by