Thursday, 13 February 2014 | MYT 5:41 PM

Feb 28 deadline to register for hockey leagues

KUALA LUMPUR: The Malaysian Hockey Confederation (MHC) have called for entries for both the MHL Division One League and the inaugural Women’s National Hockey League.

The closing date has been set for Feb 28.

MHC competitions committee executive Hashim Mohamed Yusof said on Thursday that the entry forms and a set of the rules have been handed to clubs who took part in Division One last year.

“Clubs can also contact us for the entry forms. Both competitions will begin on March 16. The dates of the various meetings will be decided later,” he said.

Last year, only seven teams played in Division One – UiTM, Thunderbolt, Uniten-KPT, Sunday 2030, Ipoh City Council, SSTMI and BJSS.

The Premier League, which is for the elite clubs, will be played from October. Teams who took part last year are KLHC, Maybank, Sapura, Tenaga Nasional, Terengganu, UniKL and Nur Insafi.

Hashim said that the Division One matches will be played on a home and away format.

“The details will be worked out once we have confirmation on the number of teams. For the women’s league, we are expecting about eight to 10 teams. Since this is a new event we have decided to play all matches at the National Hockey Stadium in Bukit Jalil,” he added.

Hashim also confirmed that national players are barred from playing in the Division One matches.

Tags / Keywords: hockey , Malaysian Hockey Confederation , MHC , MHL Division One League , Women’s National Hockey League


Most Viewed

Powered by