Monday, 17 February 2014 | MYT 8:39 PM

11 slots up for grabs in bowling trials

PETALING JAYA: Only 11 bowlers will be selected to join the national youth squad from the selection trials that started at the Sunway Mega Lanes in Sunway Pyramid on Monday.

A total of 57 bowlers – 36 boys and 21 girls – are competing in the four-day trials but the Malaysian Tenpin Bowling Congress (MTBC) are looking for just six boys and five girls to add the to the current roster.

Currently, the MTBC have retained six boys – Daniel Tan, Chong Jun Foo, Qalif Adnor Adam, Christopher Tiong, Wan Nadzmi Fikri and Syed Mohd Hafiz – and seven girls – Faten Najihah Ahmad Faik, Nur Syazwani Sahar, Nora Lyana Nastasia, Nerosha Keligit, Qistina Zainal Fitri and Nadine Kong – from last year’s squad in their roster.

The MTBC have also recently included Toh Ying Hong and Siti Nur Zulaika Ismail in the team. The duo won the SportExcel National Junior Circuit last year.

MTBC general manager Maradona Chok said the bowlers in the trials will play 48 games over the four-day period with points awarded after each block of six games.

“The bowler who finishes first will receive one point, the runner-up will receive two points and so on. In addition to that, those who failed to bowl the minimum average score will be given 10 penalty points,” he said, adding that the minimum average scores are 195 pinfalls for boys and 185 pinfalls for girls.

There are a number of vacancies after several youth bowlers were promoted to either the elite or back-up squads recently.

Radin Nur Najwa Arifah and Johnathan Ding Sagan were promoted to the elite squad while Siti Aishatun Husin and Muhd Syafiq Sajeli were upgraded to join the back-up squad.

“With the inclusion of the new 11 bowlers, we will have the same squad size of 26 as last year. Our major assignment is the World Youth Championships in Hong Kong in August.

“Coaches Steven Teng and Wendy Chai will be overseeing the progress of the bowlers in the squad,” said Maradona.

Tags / Keywords: bowling , Sunway Mega Lanes , Daniel Tan , Chong Jun Foo , Qalif Adnor Adam , Christopher Tiong , Wan Nadzmi Fikri and Syed Mohd Hafiz , Faten Najihah Ahmad Faik , Nur Syazwani Sahar , Nora Lyana Nastasia , Nerosha Keligit , Qistina Zainal Fitri , Nadine Kong


Most Viewed

Powered by