X Close


Monday, 18 August 2014

Yong returned as SAPP chief

KOTA KINABALU: Former chief minister Datuk Yong Teck Lee (pic) was returned unopposed as president of Sabah Progressive Party (SAPP).

He will serve his sixth four-year term.

Former Chief Minister Datuk Yong Teck Lee  who is the Likas assemblyman and the president of Sabah Progressive Party.(for sabah focus political stories - please give to pakaran)

Yong, whose party performed disastrously in the 2013 general election, was given the mandate to continue leading the party he formed and led after breaking away from Parti Bersatu Sabah (PBS) in 1994.

SAPP election committee chairman Datuk Paul Wong announced that the 57-year-old Yong was returned unopposed after the nominations and objection period closed on Saturday.

SAPP failed to win any state or parliamentary seat in the last elections, which came after Yong took SAPP out of the Barisan Nasional following the 2008 general election.

PKR and DAP refused to cut a seat sharing deal with SAPP and other local based opposition parties and the move saw the two national parties winning 11 of the 60 state assembly seats in the May general polls last year.

Meanwhile, incumbent Amde Sidek and two new faces – Melanie Chia Chiu Ket and Edward Dagul – won the three deputy president positions uncontested.

The six vice-president positions were also uncontested.

Those returned unopposed were Jamain Sarudin, Chong Pit Fah, Aloysius Damin Siap, Datu Shuib Datu Mutalib, Japiril Suhaimin and Carrie Fong.

Twenty-one candidates are vying for the 15 supreme council positions.

The party’s congress will be held on Aug 31.

Tags / Keywords: Politics , Government , SAPP , Yong Teck Lee , general elections


Most Viewed

Powered by