X Close


Monday, 7 April 2014

Sarawak PKR’s top 20 posts unopposed

PETALING JAYA: Twenty PKR division chiefs in Sarawak have been returned unopposed.

Sarawak PKR chief Baru Bian said the lack of interest in contesting for the top posts could signify a “stabilisation” process following an exodus of disgruntled members.

“Perhaps, there is no challenge for the top posts in 20 out of the 29 divisions here because members are satisfied with the current leadership line-up, as they had stayed true to the party’s course,” he said.

Nominations for Sabah and Sarawak PKR divisions closed at 5pm yesterday. Baru, who was returned unopposed as the Lawas division chief, said most of those who left the party were upset because they were not chosen as candidates in the last general election.

Baru, who is also the Ba Kelalan assemblyman, said about 33,000 members were eligible to vote in the division elections scheduled for April 26 and 27. He said the Tanjung Manis division was the only one that was not qualified to hold an annual general meeting because it only had 72 members.

“Only registered divisions that have a minimum 100 members are qualified to hold AGMs, Our ultimate aim is to make the presence of the party felt in all the 31 parliamentary constituencies in the state,” he said.

Tags / Keywords: Politics , PKr election , sarawan , baru bian


Most Viewed

Powered by