X Close


Saturday, 5 April 2014 | MYT 5:38 PM

Abdul Razak Abdul Majid named new Energy Commission chief

PETALING JAYA: A new chairman has been named for the Energy Commission effective April 1.

Datuk Abdul Razak Abdul Majid, the former MyPower Corporation chief executive officer, was named the Commission's new chairman by Minister of Energy, Green Technology and Water Datuk Seri Dr Maximus Ongkili.

In a statement issued Saturday, the Ministry said the appointment, which was made with Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak's consent, will be for a period of two years.

Ongkili said he believed Abdul Razak would bring the momentum of power sector reform to a higher level, taking into account his vast experience in the industry.

"I believe his hands-on approach, will add much value to the Energy Commission's role and functions in affecting further transformation the Malaysian energy sector," he said.

Abdul Razak succeeded Tan Sri Dr Ahmad Tajuddin Ali, whose term ended on March 31, 2014.

An electrical engineering by training, he had served Lembaga Letrik Negara (now Tenaga Nasional Berhad) for 36 years and held various senior posts.

Between 1998 and 2001, he was seconded to the Economic Planning Unit in the Prime Minister's Department to assist the government in studies on the prospects for the restructuring of the Malaysia Electricity Supply Industry.

He is also the president of Energy Council of Malaysia.

Tags / Keywords: Energy Commission , Abdul Razak Abdul Majid , Energy Green Technology and Water Ministry


Most Viewed

Powered by