X Close


Tuesday, 5 August 2014

Sukim gets the thumbs up

The Selangor contingent receiving the overall challenge trophy.

The Selangor contingent receiving the overall challenge trophy.

The inaugural Sukim, organised by the Malaysian Indian Sports and Cultural Foundation (MISCF), at the AIMST University in Sungai Petani, Kedah, was a big success.

Deputy Youth and Sports Minister Datuk M. Saravanan, who officiated at the opening ceremony, was surprised with the excellent response from 10 states — Perlis, Kedah, Penang, Perak, Selangor, the Federal Territories, Negri Sembilan, Malacca, Johor and Pahang — for the three-day event.

“I was quite sceptical when the MISCF informed us of their intention to organise the Sukim. I thought they were ambitious. However today, within one and a half months, MISCF have shown their commitment towards making Sukim a reality.

“It is also encouraging to see young sportsmen and sportswomen, from 10 states, getting together for a healthy activity.

“The MISCF have expressed their vision to organise Sukim annually. So we expect the youngsters, in the community, to continue their training programme.

The ministry is also committed to MISCF’s vision. It was also a platform to see new talents. The MISCF should not also focus on organising coaching and development programmes,’’ said Saravanan

Sukim, an Under-23 age group competition, had four sports – badminton, tennis, squash and karate – for both men and women. Badminton was a team event similar to the Sudirman Cup — men’s singles and doubles, women’s singles and doubles and mixed doubles.

MISCF chairman Datuk T. Mohan said they had taken the first step towards unearthing new talents in the community.

“Our aim is to play a role in the promotion and development of sports in the country. Sukim will be excellent platform for us to identify new talents.

“The response and success of Sukim has motivated us to initiate other programmes including coaching clinics at grassroots,’’ said Mohan.

Organising chairman J. Dhinagaran said the success of the Sukim was because of the excellent teamwork by the technical directors.

Selangor became the overall champions. They won golds in tennis (men and women) and badminton.

The MISCF also honoured tennis player Dr V. Chellapriya and squash player S. Sivasangari.

Chellapriya, who had won a bronze for Malaysia in the 2007 SEA Games, proved that sport was not an obstacle to excel in studies. Sivasangari, from Kedah, is making a name for herself in the international squash scene.

Mohan said that both Chellapriya and Sivasangari had shown their talents in sports.

“We would like to see more young sportsmen and sportswomen to emulate them. We are also in the midst of organising an athletics championships and a hockey competition in October,’’ he added.



Men: 1. B. Bharath (Sel); 2. Ranveer Singh Ryan (Sel); 3. P. Mogenshwar (Pah).

Women: 1. R. Archannah (Sel); 2. B. Haarini (Sel); 3. M. Ariana (Pah).


Men: 1. S. Puvandran (Ked); 2. S. Sri Thanesh (Sel); 3. Bryan Akilesh ((Pk)

Women: 1. Sivasangari (Ked); 2. Michelle Preeti Stanley (Sel); 3.Alexandria Ryanku Aloysius (Selangor)


Team: 1. Selangor; 2. Penang; 3. Federal Territories



55kg: 1. N. Ponarasu (Pk); 2. P. Mohankumar (Pah); S. Kuvilan (FT) and M. Manibarathi (Ked)

60kg: 1. P. Subanesan (Sel); 2. P. Linggeswaren (Pen); 3. P. Bharathi (NSe) and P. Pavithiran (FT).

67kg: 1. S. Thinagaran (Pk); 2. A. Deventhiran (FT); 3. Dhanenthiran (NSe) and P. Navanithan (Mal).

75kg: 1. M. Aravindran (Pk); 2. Thiyakarajan (FT); 3. S. Supramaniam (Ked) and R. Viknesh (NSe).

84kg: 1. R. Navindran (Pk); 2. S. Jegatiswaran (Ked); 3. P. Pavitheran (Sel) and Aeron Charles (Pen).

Team: 1. Perak; 2. Selangor; 3. FT and Malacca


45kg: 1. P Thamayanthi (Mal); 2. A. Kasturi (NSe); 3. P. Madhuri (Ked) and P. Yegashree (Sel)

50kg: 1. R. Logeswary (Joh); 2. S. Pavitrarani (FT); 3. S. Tharsini (Pk) and N. Anbumalar (Ked)).

55kg: 1. J. Jequeline (NSe); 2. S. Preyancheli (FT); 3. P. Mathurah (Pen) and S. Kanimozhi (Pk)

61kg: 1. N. Kanagaletchumi (FT); K. Nalayaini(Pk); K.Perumdhevi (Ked) and D. Aiswary (Pen).

68kg and below: 1. S. Dashalini (Perak); 2. S. Aneshwary (FT).

68kg and above: 1. S. Menaloshani (FT); 2. S. Soffiah Anbarasi (Ked); 3. M. Samini (Pah) and T. Tharshini (Pk).

Team: 1. Perak; 2. FT; 3. Malacca and Negri Sembilan.

Appreciation Award: V. Chellapriya (tennis) and S. Sivasangari (squash)

Overall Champions: Selangor

Tags / Keywords: Central Region , Community Sports , SUKIM


Most Viewed

Powered by