Other Sports

Published: Wednesday March 19, 2014 MYT 7:46:00 PM
Updated: Wednesday March 19, 2014 MYT 8:10:00 PM

Project 2013 hockey team wins award from sportswriters

PETALING JAYA: The national Project 2013 hockey team have been chosen to be the recipients of the Sportswriters Association of Malaysia (SAM)-100Plus “Special Award” for finishing a creditable fourth at the Junior World Cup in New Delhi last year.

The National Juniors lost 3-1 to France on penalties in the semi-finals after both teams were tied at 1-1 in regulation time. Malaysia went through the group phase unbeaten before falling to France.

“It is an award for an individual or a team who leave their mark on a tournament with a strong performance. The hockey boys’ achievement is something all Malaysians can be proud of,” said SAM president Khawari Mohd Isa at the launch of the 2013 SAM-100Plus-KBS Award ceremony at a leading hotel here on Wednesday.

The Malaysian hockey team will receive the award at the April 3 ceremony, which will be attended by Youth and Sports Minister Khairy Jamaluddin.

The “Special Awards” is a prelude to the SAM Awards. Among the awards up for grabs are the “Athlete of the Year”, which carries a RM10,000 incentive and a trophy, the “Comeback Athlete”, “Young Athlete” and the “Most Dynamic Association”.

It will be tough to predict the winner of the “Athlete of the Year” award this time as the list includes two world No. 1's – Datuk Lee Chong Wei (badminton) and Datuk Nicol David (squash).

The others shortlisted for the award are Sazali Samad (body building), Pandelela Rinong-Leong Mun Yee (diving) and Diana Bong-Hon Mun Hua (wushu).

The winners will be decided by SAM members.

F&N Beverages Marketing Sdn Bhd corporate affairs manager Carissa Goh said they are pleased with the partnership with SAM, which enters its 11th year.

“It has been more than a decade since we began our collaboration with SAM and we at 100Plus are more than pleased with this partnership. Ultimately, I believe that we are all here for the same purpose – to promote sporting excellence and give support to our local sportsmen and women,” she said.

The SAM members are also in for a windfall at the awards ceremony as they stand to win a total of RM40,000 in cash prizes.

The “SAM-KBS Media Awards” is divided into six categories – with the overall winner of the “Anugerah Utama” receiving RM7,000 and a trophy.

The six categories are for news report (print); commentary (print); news report (electronic); commentary (electronic); special report (print & electronic); and best photography. The “Anugerah Utama” winner will be picked from the winners of the six categories.

The winner of the six categories will each receive RM3,000 and a trophy. All five nominees from each of the six categories will get RM500 and a crystal medal.

Tags / Keywords: SAM, Sportswriters Association of Malaysia, Khawari Mohd Isa, Khairy Jamaluddin, Nicol David, Lee Chong Wei


Most Viewed

Powered by