Other Sports

Published: Wednesday April 24, 2013 MYT 12:00:00 AM
Updated: Friday April 26, 2013 MYT 12:42:43 AM

Oosthuizen says Woods warranted Masters DQ

ICHEON, South Korea: South African golfer Louis Oosthuizen said Wednesday he felt Tiger Woods should have been disqualified from the US Masters for signing a wrong scorecard following an incorrect drop.

The world number seven will be the highest-ranked player teeing off Thursday in the $2.8 million Ballantine's Championship in South Korea, the golf-crazy country's only European Tour tournament.

Asked about the Woods incident at a pre-tournament press conference, Oosthuizen said he was with those who felt the 14-time major champion should not have been allowed to finish the tournament in Augusta.

After hitting the flagstick and seeing his ball roll into a water hazard at the 15th hole at Augusta, Woods dropped the ball two yards back from the original shot to avoid a similar risk on the next shot.

He was given a two-stroke penalty for an improper drop, but escaped disqualification for signing an incorrect scorecard after the competition committee invoked a rule for a player who "unknowingly" makes a penalty.

"He got the rule wrong in the way he dropped," Oosthuizen said. "I don't think he did it intentionally. But after signing the scorecard, it was definitely a DQ."

Some former and current players had suggested Woods withdraw from the Masters, but he went on to complete the tournament. -AFP

Tags / Keywords: Others, Sport, sports, golf, tiger woods, Louis Oosthuizen

advertisement

advertisement

advertisement