Other Sports

Published: Sunday April 21, 2013 MYT 12:00:00 AM
Updated: Friday April 26, 2013 MYT 12:28:12 AM

Kamaruzaman claims front row spot in Sepang

PETALING JAYA: Musashi Boon Siew Honda Racing’s Azlan Shah Kamaruzaman continued his fine form in the first leg of the Petronas Asia Road Racing Championship by claiming a place in the front row at the Sepang International Circuit yesterday.

The 29-year-old earned himself the second spot in today’s SuperSports 600cc grid after posting a lap time of 1:05.654.

Japanese Katsuaki Fujiwara of BEET Kawasaki Racing clocked 1:05.569 for the fastest time while Mohd Zamri Baba, riding a Yamaha, was third quickest in 1:05.901.

“It’s good to start the race from the front. But I feel a bit disappointed because my lap time was faster yesterday (he clocked 1:05:330 on Friday),” said Azlan.

Makoto Tamada, Azlan’s team-mate, will start from the second row with Indonesian M. Fadli of Manual Tech KYT Kawasaki Racing and Ryuta Kobayashi of Musashi Boon Siew Honda Racing Malaysia.

In the Underbone 115cc, Mohd Amirul Ariff Musa of GiVi Honda Yuzy Pachie earned pole position after clocking 1:22.783. Defending overall champion Hadi Wijaya of R9 Racing Team will start in second spot after posting a time of 1:22.974 followed by Norizman Ismail of Harian Metro Y-TEQ SCK Honda Racing in third with his time of 1:23.292.

Japanese Hiroki Ono was the fastest in the Asia Dream Cup after he stopped the clock at 1:19.455. Starting alongside Ono will be Jakkrit Swangswat of Thailand (1:20.260) and Malaysian Mohd Fitri Ashraf Razali (1:20.368).

Qualifying Results

SuperSports 600cc: 1. Katsuaki Fujiwara (Kawasaki) 1:05.569, 2. Azlan Shah Kamaruzaman (Honda) 1’05.654, 3. Mohd Zamri Baba (Yamaha) 1:05.901, 4. Makoto Tamada (Honda) 1:06.020, 5. M.Fadli (Kawasaki) 1:06.147.

Underbone 115cc: 1. Mohd Amirul Ariff Musa (Honda) 1:22.783, 2. Hadi Wijaya (Yamaha) 1:22.974, 3. Norizman Ismail (Honda) 1:23.292, 4. Kazuki Masaki (Honda) 1:23.351, 5. Affendi Rosli (Honda) 1:23.370.

Asia Dream Cup: 1. Hiroki Ono (Jpn) 1:19.455, 2. Jakkrit Swangswat (Tha) 1:20.260, 3. Mohd Fitri Ashraf Razali (Mas) 1:20.368, 4. Dwi Satria (Ina) 1:20.539, 5. Kanatat Jaiman (Tha) 1:20.806.

Tags / Keywords: Others, Sport, Sport, Sport, Azlan Shah Kamaruzaman, Musashi Boon Siew Honda Racing


Most Viewed

Powered by