Other Sports

Published: Sunday February 3, 2013 MYT 12:00:00 AM
Updated: Wednesday April 17, 2013 MYT 1:23:11 AM

AHF name eight teams for Asia Cup

KUALA LUMPUR: Eight teams will square off for the right to earn a spot in the 2014 World Cup when Malaysia hosts the Asia Cup in Ipoh from Aug 24-Sept 1.

The Asian Hockey Federation (AHF) yesterday named the eight teams vying for the lone spot as the Asian continental champions.

Besides Malaysia, the other teams are 2010 Asian Games gold medallists Pakistan, South Korea, India, China, Japan, Bangladesh and Oman.

However, Malaysia, South Korea, Pakistan and India have a chance to clinch their World Cup ticket via the World League semi-finals.

Malaysia, South Korea and Pakistan are in the same group in the World League semi-finals. If all three finish in the top four of the tournament in Johor in June, then they will secure an automatic berth without having to worry about the Asia Cup.

India play in Round Two of the World League and are expected to make the cut for the semi-finals. There is a major likelihood that they will play in the semi-finals to be hosted by Holland in June.

AHF secretary general Tan Sri P. Alagendra said that the format and groupings would be decided later.

“The two groups of four teams each will play in the Asia Cup and the groupings will be released after March, when all eight teams have confirmed their entries,” he said after chairing the 62nd meeting of the AHF Council.

Tags / Keywords: Others, Sport, Sport, asia cup, hockey, malaysia


Most Viewed

Powered by