Other Sports

Published: Thursday August 30, 2012 MYT 12:00:00 AM
Updated: Saturday June 1, 2013 MYT 5:33:21 PM

Prize money raised by RM50,000 to make MHL more competitive and interesting

KUALA LUMPUR: The total prize money for the Malaysia Hockey League (MHL), which begins on Saturday, has been raised to RM410,000 – an increase of RM50,000 from last year.

Malaysian Hockey Confederation (MHC) secretary Johari Aziz, who chaired the team managers’ meeting yesterday, said that “the increased prize money will make the six-week league more competitive and interesting”.

He also said that 13 foreign players will feature in the MHL, which will end on Oct 10.

Double champions KL Hockey Club (KLHC), powered by eight internationals, will be gunning their third consecutive double – league and overall titles.

The other teams in the Premier Division are Sapura, Tenaga Nasional, Maybank, Universiti Kuala Lumpur (UniKL) and MBI-Nur Insafi.

Division One will feature Johor HA, Armed Forces, Bukit Jalil Sports School (BJSS), Politeknik-KPT, Universiti Teknologi Mara (UiTM), Thunderbolts and PST-Uniten.

The six Premier Division teams will play on a home and away basis while the Division One teams will only play a single round.

After the completion of the league matches, the top four teams in each division will compete for their own overall titles, said Johari.

While the top four teams from the Premier Division compete for the TNB Cup, the top four from Division One will vie for the Presidents Cup.

The prize money for winning the Premier League is RM60,000. The runners-up and third-placed team will get RM40,000 and RM30,000 respectively.

The winner of the TNB Cup will receive RM60,000. The runners-up will get RM40,000 while the third and fourth-placed teams will get RM30,000 and RM20,000 respectively.

The Division One champions, meanwhile, will receive RM30,000, the runners-up RM20,000 and third place RM10,000.

The winner of the President’s Cup will earn RM30,000. The runners-up will get RM20,000 while the third and fourth-placed teams will receive RM10,000 and RM5,000.

KLHC will take on league runners-up Sapura in the Charity Shield match at the National Hockey Stadium in Bukit Jalil on Saturday (8pm).

Tags / Keywords: Others, Sport


Most Viewed

Powered by