Published: Sunday August 24, 2014 MYT 10:45:00 PM
Updated: Monday August 25, 2014 MYT 2:55:15 PM

Perak fights back to earn eighth Razak Cup title

KUALA LUMPUR: Perak won their eighth Razak Cup title when they came from behind to beat Pahang 4-3 in the Division One final at the Kuantan Hockey Stadium yesterday.

The silver state, who is also the defending champions, led 2-1 at half time but Pahang started the second half strongly to score two goals to lead 3-2.

But two goals in a space of four minutes by Mohamed Haziq gave Perak the title. His goals came in the 66th and 69th minutes from field attempts.

The Razak Cup title proved to be elusive for the east coast side.his is the third final in four years for Pahang. In 2011 they lost to KL (0-1) and then to Terengganu (1-3) the following year.

Perak have won the titles in 1966, 1973, 1985, 1987, 1990 (joint champions with Armed Forces), 1992 and last year.

Perak walked away with RM10,000 while Pahang received RM7,000.

In the first half, Perak took the lead through Mohamed Sabri and Amir Farid in the third and 18th minutes.

Hairul Nizam Rani scored from a penalty corner set-piece in the 20th minute to keep pace with the champions.

Mohamed Sybrie put Pahang on equal terms in the 44th minute and then skipper Ismail Abu added another in the 55th minute to give them the lead.

But the east coast side did not foresee Perak’s resurgence.

Kuala Lumpur took third place when they beat Malacca 2-1 in the playoff match.

Mohamed Ramadan Rosli scored the opening goal for KL in the 15th minute while S. Selvaraju netted the winner in the 39th minute. Malacca’s goal was scored by B. Namasivayam in the 17th minute. 

Meanwhile, former champions Terengganu are back in Division One next year.

The 2012 winner defeated Armed Forces 5-1 in the Division Two final.

Terengganu won the Division Two title without dropping a match.

Faizal Saari was their main goal-getter as he scored a brace to take his tally to eight goals.

He opened the scoring in the 16th minute and then followed it up with another in the 35th minute.

Syamin Aiman was on target in the 29th minute while defennder Baljit Singh and Mohamed Sufi Ismat added the others goals in the 44th and 62nd minutes respectively.

Terengganu won RM5,000 for their effort while Forces picked up RM3,000.

Tags / Keywords: Sport, Sport Others, Hockey, Razak Cup, Perak, Pahang


Most Viewed

Powered by