Published: Thursday July 10, 2014 MYT 9:02:00 PM
Updated: Thursday July 10, 2014 MYT 9:05:15 PM

Eleven hockey teams will vie for honours in Glasgow

KUALA LUMPUR: There will only be 11 teams for the hockey event at the Asian Games in Incheon, South Korea from Sept 19-Oct 4.

The teams in the fray are defending champions Pakistan. The others are regulars Malaysia, South Korea, India, China and Japan while the qualifiers are Bangladesh, Oman and Singapore.

Sri Lanka who also qualified from the Asian qualifying meet in Dhaka last month have decided not to take part.

The Asian Hockey Federation (AHF) have decided to include Iran and Qatar in the mix.

The Asiad is the first qualifier for the 2016 Rio Olympics. The champions will gain an automatic berth.

AHF acting president Tan Sri P. Alagendra said the groupings will be drawn up once the hosts have confirmed the entries.

“For the moment we have received 11 names. Although we have a qualifying tournament the entries will depend on whether the respective national Olympic Committees have entered their teams for the Games.

“The groupings will be based on the team’s current ranking. There will be nine teams taking part in the women’s category,” he added.

The teams are defending champions China, South Korea, Japan, India, Malaysia, Kazakhstan, Taiwan, Thailand and Hong Kong.

Tags / Keywords: Asian Games, Incheon, hockey, Malaysia, Pakistan, South Korea


  1. ‘Netball ruling a prelude for other sports’
  2. Mascherano backs Messi after World Cup disappointment
  3. Let's get this one!
  4. Youth Olympics on Astro
  5. Police see off 10-man Selangor in Malaysia Cup tie
  6. Hamilton hopes to play his cards right
  7. Malaysia stun England 2-1 to make boys' World Junior Team semis
  8. Another week, another pole for Marquez at Brno
  9. Nu venue for Malaysian Open squash meet
  10. Kokocinski in the lead at Harvard