Published: Monday April 7, 2014 MYT 5:12:00 PM
Updated: Monday April 7, 2014 MYT 5:17:30 PM

Malaysia back in Queen Sirikit Cup after 12 years

SUBANG: Malaysia’s top amateur Nur Durriyah Damian will lead Malaysia’s challenge at the Asia-Pacific Ladies Invitational Golf Team Championship for the Queen Sirikit Cup which starts on Wednesday at the Saujana Golf and Country Club.

Nur Durriyah will partner Dianne Luke Jia Zhen and Kelie Kan Kah Yan in the three-day meet.

Malaysia are playing for the third time in the championship after a 12-year absence.

The participation of all 13 countries, including Australia, is seen as a boost for the 36th edition of the tournament.

Besides Malaysia and Australia, the other teams are 15-time champions South Korea, Japan, Taiwan, New Zealand, China, Thailand, the Philippines, India, Hong Kong, Indonesia and Singapore.

Malaysian Ladies Golf Association (MALGA) president and organising committee chairman Tunku Jawahir Tuanku Ja’afar is delighted at the opportunity to host the event.

“I am proud to announce that representatives from all 13 teams have safely arrived in Kuala Lumpur and are currently practising on the championship course, “ she said.

Living up to its slogan Where Legends Are Born, the Queen Sirikit Cup has been the stepping stone for some of Asia’s top women golfers, including South Korea’s Shin Jiyai, Ai Miyazato of Japan, former world No. 1 Tseng Yani of Taiwan, New Zealand teen sensation Lydia Ko, Thai rising star Pornanong Phatlum, as well as Malaysia’s rookie professional Kelly Tan.

Sisters Lim Siew Ai and Ai Lian, who is also an alternate captain, are coaching the Malaysian team.

The Queen Sirikit Cup sees teams of three players competing over three rounds of stroke play with the two lowest gross scores contributing to the team’s daily score. The team returning the lowest gross score over the three days will be declared winners.

Tags / Keywords: golf, Queen Sirikit Cup, Nur Durriyah Damian, Dianne Luke Jia Zhen, Kelie Kan Kah Yan, Asia Pacific Ladies Invitational Golf Team Championship


Most Viewed

Powered by