Published: Monday February 10, 2014 MYT 6:35:00 PM
Updated: Monday February 10, 2014 MYT 10:09:41 PM

Terengganu have 17 days to name Langkawi team

Anuar Manan (front) in a file photo. He should be one of Terengganu Cycling Team's riders in the Le Tour de Langkawi.

Anuar Manan (front) in a file photo. He should be one of Terengganu Cycling Team's riders in the Le Tour de Langkawi.

PETALING JAYA: The Terengganu Cycling Team have their work cut out for them as they have yet to name their riders for the Le Tour de Langkawi (LTdL), which is just 17 days away.

The team are likely to comprise the same riders who competed in the Herald Sun Tour in Melbourne, Australia (Feb 5-9), which featured three World Tour teams – namely Garmin Sharp, Cannondale and Orica-Greenedge.

Mohd Shahrul Mat Amin, Anuar Manan, Mohd Adiq Husainie Othman, Nur Amirul Fakhruddin Marzuki, the Salleh brothers – Mohd Zamri and Mohd Harrif – started the race for Terengganu.

Only Shahrul, Adiq and Harrif completed the five-stage race, which ended on Sunday. Simon Clarke of Orica rounded up the overall honours.

The Tour hardly had any stages longer than 170km (the longest was 165km). Several tough climbs dotted the race but it was the pace of the race and the searing heat that made life difficult for Terengganu riders.

“The heat was unbearable at times and it was really windy. Throw in some climbs into the equation and you get a really tough race,” said Zamri.

The first to bail out was Anuar – in the second stage. Zamri and Fakhruddin followed suit in the following stage.

As for the LTdL, which will be held from Feb 27-March 8, there will be six World Tour teams in action. They are Orica, Tinkoff-Saxo, Belkin, Europcar, Astana and Katusha.

Terengganu are looking to grab some stage wins in the LTdL this year after failing to feature on the podium last year.

On paper, at least, this looks possible, especially with the return of Anuar from Azerbaijan outfit Synergy Baku Cycling to join forces with Harrif.

The duo had five podium finishes between them in the 2011 edition of LTdL.

Tags / Keywords: cycling, Le Tour de Langkawi, LTdL, Anuar Manan, Mohd Harrif Salleh, Terengganu Cycling Team


Most Viewed

Powered by