X Close


Published: Monday April 7, 2014 MYT 12:00:00 AM
Updated: Monday April 7, 2014 MYT 7:04:26 AM

Sarawak PKR’s top 20 posts unopposed

PETALING JAYA: Twenty PKR division chiefs in Sarawak have been returned unopposed.

Sarawak PKR chief Baru Bian said the lack of interest in contesting for the top posts could signify a “stabilisation” process following an exodus of disgruntled members.

“Perhaps, there is no challenge for the top posts in 20 out of the 29 divisions here because members are satisfied with the current leadership line-up, as they had stayed true to the party’s course,” he said.

Nominations for Sabah and Sarawak PKR divisions closed at 5pm yesterday. Baru, who was returned unopposed as the Lawas division chief, said most of those who left the party were upset because they were not chosen as candidates in the last general election.

Baru, who is also the Ba Kelalan assemblyman, said about 33,000 members were eligible to vote in the division elections scheduled for April 26 and 27. He said the Tanjung Manis division was the only one that was not qualified to hold an annual general meeting because it only had 72 members.

“Only registered divisions that have a minimum 100 members are qualified to hold AGMs, Our ultimate aim is to make the presence of the party felt in all the 31 parliamentary constituencies in the state,” he said.

Tags / Keywords: Politics, PKr election, sarawan, baru bian


  1. Cops swoop in to arrest PPS members after Penang Merdeka parade
  2. Riot erupts after Sarawak-Perak football match in Kuching
  3. Molotov cocktail thrown into Guan Eng's house
  4. Re-igniting love for the land
  5. Kahumbo shot dead in ‘black ops’
  6. Ananda Krishnan, India former minister charged over Indian telecoms scandal
  7. Chong Wei advances to World Championships final
  8. Nur Jazlan: Govt should ensure MAS plan doesn’t hurt other airline businesses
  9. Tanggal 31 cover version goes viral
  10. Radical plan to revive MAS