X Close


Published: Thursday July 18, 2013 MYT 12:27:00 PM
Updated: Thursday July 18, 2013 MYT 12:33:02 PM

Nur Jazlan appointed new PAC chairman

Datuk Nur Jazlan Mohamed.

Datuk Nur Jazlan Mohamed.

KUALA LUMPUR: Datuk Nur Jazlan Mohamed (BN -Pulai) has been appointed as the Public Accounts Committee (PAC) chairman for the 13th Parliament.

He succeeds Datuk Seri Azmi Khalid who held the post previously, while DAP's Dr Tan Seng Giaw (DAP - Kepong) was chosen to be Nur Jazlan's deputy.

The appointments were made in the Dewan Rakyat before Dewan Rakyat Speaker Tan Sri Pandikar Amin Mulia on Thursday.

Among the functions of the PAC is to examine the accounts of the Federation and the appropriation of the sums granted by Parliament to meet the public expenditure.

On a separate motion, the Committee of Selection of the 13th Parliament was appointed under Standing Order 76.

The Committee of Selection is appointed at the beginning of every Parliament to perform duties including nominating members of the PAC, Standing Orders Committee and other committees.

Pandikar was appointed as the chairman of the Committee of Selection, which also has six other members.

The six members are Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin (BN- Pagoh), Natural Resources and Environment Minister Datuk Seri G.Palanivel (BN - Cameron Highlands), Minister in the Prime Minister's Department Datuk Joseph Entulu Belaun (BN - Selangau), MCA deputy president Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai (BN - Bentong), Opposition Leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim (PKR - Permatang Pauh) and DAP adviser Lim Kit Siang (DAP - Gelang Patah).






  1. Husband forces pregnant wife to have sex with Bangladeshi worker
  2. Zahid Hamidi: Majority of non-Malays moderate, respect other races
  3. UM law lecturer Azmi Sharom denies sedition charge
  4. Langkawi Sky Bridge to reopen in December
  5. Time to call a spade a spade
  6. Zahid Hamidi: Action imminent against Sabah secession proponents
  7. IGP Khalid: No forgiveness, wait for police action
  8. UM lecturer Azmi Sharom faces sedition charge
  9. MH17: Names of nine returning victims released
  10. Khairy slams PPS, asks why Penang did not work with Rakan Cop