X Close


Published: Tuesday June 25, 2013 MYT 12:00:00 AM
Updated: Tuesday June 25, 2013 MYT 9:27:37 AM

Five strictly no burning zones

PETALING JAYA: The Department of Environment has declared Tereng­ganu, Pahang, Negri Sembilan, Kuala Lumpur and Putrajaya as strictly “no open burning” zones with immediate effect.

Department director-general Datuk Halimah Hassan said the exceptions were for cremation, grilling or for barbecue, flaring and religious purposes.

She said the ban was issued under Section 29AA(2) of the Environmental Quality Act.

“Those found guilty can be fined up to RM500,000, jailed for up to five years or both,” she said.

“They can also incur a maximum compound of RM2,000 for each violation.”

Tags / Keywords: Environment, Nation, News


  1. Lorry slams into cars, catches fire at Sunway toll booth on Kesas Highway
  2. MH17: Najib's 'silent diplomatic' approach worked, says NYT
  3. MH17: Opposition leaders laud Najib's quiet diplomacy
  4. Kiki fined RM5,000 for causing mischief and damage
  5. MH17: Malaysia receives black boxes from Ukrainian rebels
  6. MH17: Black boxes to be handed over to Malaysia, says Najib
  7. Why did these children have to die?
  8. MH17: Russian Ambassador to Malaysia speaks up
  9. MH17: Dutch father - 'Thank you for killing my daughter'
  10. Iconic A&W outlet in PJ to be demolished