X Close


Published: Monday December 23, 2013 MYT 12:00:00 AM
Updated: Monday December 23, 2013 MYT 10:55:45 AM

NPNG steal the show

In vain goalkeeper Muhammad Shamel Sabaruddin attempts to stop Thivagar’s shot in the 10th minite.

In vain goalkeeper Muhammad Shamel Sabaruddin attempts to stop Thivagar’s shot in the 10th minite.

IT was a night of celebration for NPNG as they clinched the major honours in the Tan Sri Mustapha Cup Under-19 football competition.

NPNG, represented by the Selangor Under-19 squad, not only won the Cup when they defeated JKM-Perisai 4-0 in the final, but also had their players named as the winners of the individual awards.

Hardworking striker K. Sarkunan was named as the Man of the Match (final) while Emric Tan Jian Sern was presented with the Best Goalkeeper award. NPNG also won the Unity Trophy, donated by SportsUnite.

NPNG first goal came in the 10th minute from R. Thivagar, while the other goals were slotted home by Mohd Zuhairi Khalid (34th), Ibrahim Syaihul (55th) and Sarkunan (65th).

Both JKM-Perisai and NPNG clashed in the preliminary rounds and that match also ended in 4-0 victory for NPNG.

However the final, played on a slippery pitch due to rain, was exciting with non-stop entertain-ment. NPNG were quick to adapt to the field conditions and they dominated from the start.

The champs: NPNG players and officials celebrating their victory. 
NPNG players and officials celebrating their Cup final victory.

JKM-Perisai goalkeeper Muhammad Shamel Sabaruddin was kept busy as NPNG’s strikers searched for an early breakthrough. It came in the 10th minute when Thivagar found the mark.

JKM-Perisai, down by a goal, showed a lot of urgency as they looked for the equaliser. And when they did get a chance on target, they found NPNG goalkeeper Emric in good form. Minutes before the break, Mohd Zuhairi scored to make it 2-0 for NPNG.

The second-half was evenly contested as both teams attacked with vengeance. But it was NPNG that scored again — through Ibrahim Syaihul and Sarkunan.

NPNG manager Michael Palani praised his players for their polished display and said it was the least they deserved.

“The players adapted well to the wet conditions and played as a team. Although we had beaten JKM-Perisai in the group stage, we were not prepared to take it easy in the final. JKM-Perisai played well but our goalkeeper Emric was in good form,’’ said Michael.

As the champions, NPNG received RM5,000 and medals, while JKM-Perisai settled for RM3,000. Tan Sri Mustapha Kamal was on hand to give away the prizes.

He was also pleased with the success for the month-long competition, supported by Yayasan Emkay, 100Plus, Milo, Bata, Adidas and SportsUnite.

“Several players involved in the tournament have been impressive and we hope to see them graduate to play for Selangor in the coming years.

“We are also grateful to the sponsors for the support of our vision and ambition to provide a platform for youngsters to exhibit their talent in a competition,’’ said Mustapha.

Tan Sri Mustapha Kamal Cup

Roll of Honour

Champions: NPNG

Runners-up: JKM-Perisai

Third: PKNS and Klang District Football Assocations

Man of Match (final): K. Sarkunan (NPNG)

Best Goalkeeper: Emric Tan Jian Sern (NPNG)

Top Scorer: Mohamad Abdul Halim Arifin (JKM-Perisai)

Best Player: Muhamad Hardee Shamsuri (PKNS)

Fair Play: JKM-Perisai

Unity: NPNG

Tags / Keywords: Central Region, Community Sports, football


  1. Karpal Singh: He never feared defeat, says Guan Eng
  2. Karpal Singh, my loving husband
  3. A fighter and a gentleman
  4. MERS virus: 64 villagers from Kampung Bintang quarantined for a week
  5. Funeral with state honours for Karpal
  6. I had no idea it was Karpal, says lorry driver
  7. Penang to give Karpal funeral with state honours
  8. Karpal Singh: Khairy tells Perkasa’s Zulkifli to ‘shut up’ over insensitive tweets
  9. Karpal Singh: Lorry driver in crash tested positive for ganja
  10. Karpal Singh: Photo Gallery