X Close


Published: Sunday February 17, 2013 MYT 12:00:00 AM
Updated: Saturday April 20, 2013 MYT 3:41:39 PM

PRS reveals picks for coming parliamentary elections

KUCHING: PRS had revealed its candidates for the coming parliamentary elections.

Its president Tan Sri James Masing told The Star that he disclosed the names during a function in Balai Ringin yesterday.

“I told the audience at the gathering that PRS has nominated Masir Kujat for Sri Aman, William Nyalau (Lubok Antu), Datuk Joseph Salang (Julau), Datuk Aaron Dagang (Kanowit), newcomer Wilson Ugak (Hulu Rajang) and Joseph Entulu (Selangau),” he said.

Masing said based on past experience, he was confident that the party’ list of candidates would be accepted by the top leadership of Barisan Nasional.

“I hope those who are not selected would stand behind the party and bring their supporters to do likewise.

“The position of MP is not the individual’s right but that of the party to which the individual belongs,” he said.

Of all the PRS parliamentary seats, Hulu Rajang has been the most controversial because incumbent Billy Abit Joo has been insisting that he should be the one to defend the seat even after his name was dropped from the list last year.

Masing said it was because Abit’s majority of 2,164 votes against George Lagong in a straight fight during the 2008 parliamentary polls showed a dip of more than 40% compared to his 2004 majority of 3,666 votes when he was with PBDS.

Masing also said that 22 years as an MP was long enough to show one’s capability in serving the people.

PRS would not only have to face the Opposition during the elections.

Last January, SWP president Larry Sng said his party would contest in the six constituencies presently held by PRS.

“We stick to our stand to contest in six constituencies,” he said.

Sng said the full list of candidates for the general election would be announced the latest in early March.

He said their election committee, headed by SWP deputy president George Lagong was still fine-tuning the list.

“But we won’t be announcing the list too late so that candidates will have time to campaign.

“To date, the only confirmed candidate was Wong Judat, who will contest in Julau,” said Sng.

SWP had declared that it was Barisan-friendly.

Tags / Keywords: Community, News, Politics, PRS, Masing, candidates, SWP


Most Viewed

Powered by