Published: Thursday December 19, 2013 MYT 12:00:00 AM
Updated: Thursday December 19, 2013 MYT 9:13:28 AM

O'Toole's Oscar nominations

Peter O’Toole was nominated for eight Academy Awards; he never won. (He was, however, given an honorary Oscar in 2003.)

Here’s the history:

• 1962: Lawrence Of Arabia

Winner: Gregory Peck, To Kill A Mockingbird

• 1964: Becket

Winner: Rex Harrison, My Fair Lady

• 1968: The Lion In Winter

Winner: Cliff Robertson, Charly

• 1969: Goodbye, Mr. Chips

Winner: John Wayne, True Grit

• 1972: The Ruling Class

Winner: Marlon Brando, The Godfather

• 1980: The Stunt Man

Winner: Robert De Niro, Raging Bull

• 1982: My Favorite Year

Winner: Ben Kingsley, Gandhi

• 2006: Venus

Winner: Forest Whitaker, The Last King Of Scotland

Related story:

Larger than life

Tags / Keywords: Entertainment, Entertainment, Peter O'Toole, Obituary, Hollywood, Actor, Oscars, Lawrence Of Arabia


  1. This Tiger’s still roaring
  2. Diet and DNA: The mysterious link between genes and eating habits
  3. Christians congregate to mark occasion with readings and hymns
  4. World Book Day: What is your favourite book fix?
  5. Are you sleep-deprived?
  6. Alternative treatments for dengue fever
  7. Malaysia’s own master photographers
  8. Cycling in Japan: Touring the city of Tokyo while surviving on budget meals
  9. London salon mocks Kim Jong Un's 'bad hair', N.Korea not amused
  10. Prada announces creative writing contest with RM22k cash prize