Published: Thursday December 19, 2013 MYT 12:00:00 AM
Updated: Thursday December 19, 2013 MYT 9:13:28 AM

O'Toole's Oscar nominations

Peter O’Toole was nominated for eight Academy Awards; he never won. (He was, however, given an honorary Oscar in 2003.)

Here’s the history:

• 1962: Lawrence Of Arabia

Winner: Gregory Peck, To Kill A Mockingbird

• 1964: Becket

Winner: Rex Harrison, My Fair Lady

• 1968: The Lion In Winter

Winner: Cliff Robertson, Charly

• 1969: Goodbye, Mr. Chips

Winner: John Wayne, True Grit

• 1972: The Ruling Class

Winner: Marlon Brando, The Godfather

• 1980: The Stunt Man

Winner: Robert De Niro, Raging Bull

• 1982: My Favorite Year

Winner: Ben Kingsley, Gandhi

• 2006: Venus

Winner: Forest Whitaker, The Last King Of Scotland

Related story:

Larger than life

Tags / Keywords: Entertainment, Entertainment, Peter O'Toole, Obituary, Hollywood, Actor, Oscars, Lawrence Of Arabia


  1. Kawaii! Babymetal, teenage girls with a love for metal music
  2. One of us: Treat our maids better
  3. 'The Wind Rises' is an unusual choice of material for award-winning Hayao Miyazaki
  4. Blame the elders: Study suggests laziness could be hereditary
  5. There is no such thing as being 'too young' to get a heart attack
  6. Malaysian singer Najwa Mahiaddin and her New York state of mind
  7. The Wind Rises
  8. Local Broadway-inspired musical 'The Rising Son' is high on values
  9. World's #1 blader Richie Eisler travels the world for work
  10. This Tiger’s still roaring