News

Published: Wednesday February 5, 2014 MYT 10:05:00 AM
Updated: Wednesday February 5, 2014 MYT 10:27:29 AM

Neil Gaiman reads 'Green Eggs and Ham' for charity

Author narrates Dr. Seuss’ classic as Worldbuilders’ charity fundraising drive passes its US$500,000 goal.

FOR many, Dr Seuss’s Green Eggs and Ham is not just a children’s classic but a work of literary excellence, comprising as it does a constricted 50-word vocabulary as well as the author’s characteristic illustrations.

The reading by Coraline and American Gods author Neil Gaiman marks a successful fundraising period for the Worldbuilders website which, towards the end of 2013, proposed a charity drive for livestock distribution group Heifer International via a combination of auctions, lottery and donations.

“I’d actually already recorded a reading at the beginning of January: it was nice and elegant, filmed in an oak-panelled library in Cambridge, with a blazing fire behind me. I was relatively nattily dressed and as coiffed as I get,” Gaiman wrote in his online journal.

“The only problem with that video was, as we discovered on Friday [Jan 31] , the audio track was completely inaudible.”

“So, when I heard that Worldbuilders had hit the US$500,000 [RM1.5mil] stretch goal, I went for my jog, showered, and recorded myself reading Green Eggs And Ham again.”

“I suspect that I would have received fewer comments about how I look like a homeless person if we’d used the original inaudible one,” he joked.

The Worldbuilders 2013 Fundraiser ends on Wednesday, Feb 5 at midnight PST (6am Brazil, 8am GMT, 4pm Beijing). – AFP Relaxnews

http://youtu.be/TKh_WOfxkA4

Tags / Keywords: Lifestyle, Neil Gaiman, Green Eggs And Ham

advertisement

  1. Christians congregate to mark occasion with readings and hymns
  2. Diet and DNA: The mysterious link between genes and eating habits
  3. Meet Kepler-186f: First exoplanet found to be 'almost like Earth'
  4. Harry Potter fans open 'Hogwarts' school online, enrolling students now
  5. Prada announces creative writing contest with RM22k cash prize
  6. Back to the future: Celebrating Record Store Day in Malaysia
  7. Nature's wonder: Checking out the fascinating ice caves in the US
  8. London salon mocks Kim Jong Un's 'bad hair', N.Korea not amused
  9. Kawaii! Babymetal, teenage girls with a love for metal music
  10. Child Safety Awareness campaign: Keeping schools safe

advertisement

advertisement